top of page

Prague String Duo

Archive Recordings

Released December 13th, 2015

Saša Večtomov's students in concert at the December 2015 Uneventful launch of Archive Recordings, Church of St. Lawrence below Petrin, Prague. (Photo: A. Večtomov)

Prague String Duo, featuring brothers Saša (cello) and Vladimir (guitar) Večtomov, formed in 1970 and was characterized by its unusual instrumentation. They performed in USSR, USA, Great Britain, Mexico, Norway, Portugal and many other countries. Their unique repertory was arranged for cello and guitar by their father Ivan Večtomov, a composer and cellist himself. Prague String Duo not only introduced new audiences to the work of Henry Eccles and fellow Czech Leoš Janáček (e.g., Fairy Tale) but concertized prolifically with brilliance and charm.


Archive Recordings is a collection of previously unreleased historic recordings selected from the Prague String Duo vaults. It is being released in December 2015 to celebrate the incipient birthdays of Saša (85th) and Vladimír (70th), as well as to honor the memory of Vladimír who passed away on October 12, 2015. All recordings were produced on amateur analog equipment between 1970 and '86.

Après un rêve - G. Fauré
00:00 / 00:00
uneventful 001
bottom of page